Ruse - Pirgovo trip

Ruse
  • 1 day
  • difficulty: Incepatori

The route is suitable for beginners with no experience, families with children who want an adventurous experience to strengthen their family connection, people with disabilities and those with experience who want to make a relaxing kayak on the Danube.


The route lasts one day, with the starting point and return to Ruse, Ruse district and we shall walk 10 km.


Departure should be as early as morning to have enough time to stroll and admire the beauty of the landscape.


Departure from Ruse, from where we head up the Danube to Pirgovo and then we shall turn downstream to Ruse. This time, on the way back, it shall be easier, because we shall fall in the direction of the current.

Touristic objectives in area

International Festival of Sand Sculptures

The first edition of the International Festival of sand sculptures in Ruse (Ruse Sandfest) started on 9 June 2015. The festival is organized by the Municipality of Ruse and the foundation "Ruse - the city of free spirit". The idea is it to become annual. In the festival are involved well-known masters from different nationalities.

The theme of the first edition is "Cinema". It is expected the artists to mould well-known characters from movies like Indiana Jones, Marilyn Monro, Prometheus, Taras Bulba, Bodyguard, Charlie Chaplin and the kid, Maria Antoinette, Spiderman and others.

The event is held on the banks of the Danube River. There have been prepared 613 tons of sand, which is very unique because it contains kaolin which makes it very gracious as a material. Also, it has very beautiful colour. The dimensions of the sand sculptures will be about 2 meters in height with a base 3x3m.

The visitors are able to watch every moment from the creation of the figures and the work of the artists.

The sand statues will remain there until late autumn or to their natural destruction. To be protected from the influence of climatic conditions they will be sealed in special technology.

Natural Park Rusenski Lom

Natural Park “Rusenski Lom” is located 20 km south of Ruse and the Rusenski Lom river named – the last tributary of the Danube river on the right. It was declared a protected area in 1970 and has a total area of 3408 hectares.

The beautiful river terraces, high vertical rocks, caves, rock formations, vast biodiversity and historical monuments park turns into a great place to visit. In addition to that allows scientific research, natural park “Rusenski Lom” offers many opportunities for active tourism and environmentally friendly.

Various tourist routes are marked and allow specially tourists to get acquainted with the biological diversity of the park.

All routes are well marked and do not require special training to make them. If tourists follow the mark closely, they will not need guides from the natural park.

Guided tours are only available on request in advance.

Hunting is forbidden on the territory of the natural park as well as the ignition of the fire outside the places specially designed for this purpose.

Rock-hewn Churches of Ivanovo

In the valley of the Rusenski Lom River in northeast Bulgaria, a complex of rock-dug churches, chapels, monasteries and cells develop near the village of Ivanovo.

The cells and churches were hewn here during the 12th century. The 14th-century murals are a testimony to the exceptional talent of the artists belonging to the Tarnovo School of Painting.

The frescoes of the Ivanovo churches reveal an exceptional art and remarkable artistic sensibility for the 14th century painting and Bulgarian medieval art. They represent an important achievement for Christian art in South East Europe.

Regional History Museum, Ruse

The Ruse Regional Historical Museum is one of the 11 regional museums of Bulgaria. It was established in 1904 as a museum exposition to the Male High School "Knyaz Boris I" in Ruse.

The museum occupies the building of the former Battenberg Palace, previously a local court, built 1879- 1882 by Friedrich Grünanger. Nowadays it holds approximately 140,000 items from the region of Ruse and North-Eastern Bulgaria.

Address of Ruse Regional Historical Museum: 3, Al.Batenberg square, Ruse

Museum House of Kaliopa, Ruse

The museum "Urban Life of Ruse in the end of XIX and beginning of XX century" is located in a building dating back to 1864 where the consulate of Prussia was housed. The building is more popular under the name "Kalliope House" as the legend said that the house was presented to the beautiful Calliope (Maria Kalish - the wife of the Prussian consul Kalish Morris) by the infatuated in love governor of Danube vilayet - Midhat Pasha.

The exposition presents the role of Russe as a gateway to Europe and the influx of the European urban culture into Bulgaria at the end of IX and beginning of XX century.  There are displayed examples of interiors of a guest room, music room and bedroom, with furniture from Vienna, as well as collections of urban clothing, jewelry, accessories, silverware, etc.. In the museum can be seen the first grand piano, imported into Bulgaria from Viena.

At upper floor of the house can be seen paintings made in 1896 by Austrian master Shauesberg.

Address of the House-museum of Ruse Urban Life: 36, Ferdinand str., Ruse

Pantheon of National Revival Heroes, Ruse

The Pantheon of National Revival Heroes in city of Ruse is a national shrine-ossuary of 453 supporters of the Bulgarian national revival. It was built on the territory of the old Ruse cemetery and was opened on 28 February 1978 to mark the 100 anniversary of the liberation of Bulgaria from Ottoman rule.

Working time of the Pantheon: 9:00 to 12:00 and 13:00 to 17:30 (non-working days: Friday and Saturday)

Orlova Chuka Cave

Orlova Chuka cave is about 40 km from Ruse, near the village Pepelina. The cave was discovered in 1941 by a shepherd who was tending sheep in the area.

In 1959, 124 stone stairs were built in Orlova Chuka and an artificial tunnel was drilled, which serves as an entrance. The speleologists began to examine the cave and found skeletal bears skeletons. It is believed to have been inhabited by people in the Paleolithic age and in the Stone Age and Copper Age.

The cave was declared a natural site by Decree no. 2810 of November 10, 1962.

At present, about 3 km from the cave are accessible and illuminated for visitors.

Its name comes from the rock crown that is above its entrance.

Orlova Chuka is the habitat of the species of bats Rhinolophus ferrumequinum, Rhinolophus Hipposideros and Myotis blythii. In the galleries lives the species of bats Chiroptera which is unique to Europe.

Examination of the cave continues until present days.

 

Sexaginta Prista Fortress, Ruse

Sexaginta Prista is an ancient Roman fortress located on hill near Danube river, on the territory of the nowadays town of Ruse (its north-western part). This Roman castle arose above the ruins of an ancient Thracian settlement. By excavations there were found Thracians finds dated back to II-nd - I-st century BC evidences for the existence of the Thracian village here.    

Sexaginta Prista shared the fate of the other forts on the right riverside of the Lower Danube. It finished its existence after the attacks of Avars and Slavs in the end of VI-th and the beginning of VII-th century. Later, in IX-th - X-th century the medieval town Ruse arose over its ruins.

Nowadays Sexaginta Prista is a branch and an open-air exposition of Regional History Museum Ruse.

Address of the archaeological site Sexaginta Prista: 2, Tsar Kaloyan str, Ruse

Route map

UE RO GOV BG GOV INTERREG